The amount of drinkable water for people is decreasing. Why is this? What can be done?

The quantity of usable freshwater for people is diminishing. Population growth and pollution cause such global and serious problem. There are a number of solutions to cope with the shortage of drinkable water. Firstly, overpopulation gives rise to demand on water resources, which is considered one of the significant reasons of the issue noted above. In other words, growing demand for food with increasing population leads to excess water use. Secondly, industrial, chemical, biological and household emissions pollute water. As a result, harmful substances such as pesticides, metals and toxins produced by bacteria, spoil the quality of water by getting into its composition. There are two efficient solutions to deal with water scarcity problem. The first and foremost way is taking responsibility for actions and understanding their consequences. If each person invests their efforts and try to change the perception, this issue can be tackled, because everything depends on people. Another method is protection of water from pollution by developing cleaning technologies. It can help not only to prevent water contamination, but also filter and apply the water. In conclusion, resource saving by each person and technology improvement are effective in dealing with the issue.