The age of Information Technology has taken a lot of people by surprise. While it has become a way of life for some, others know very little about it and may be unlikely to learn. Eventually, we will have a polarized society and this will lead to serious social problems.

Information technology has changed the world we live in. The advent of computers and the internet in daily life has changed the way we communicate and do some of the basic tasks. While the younger generation has quickly embraced the technology in their everyday life, a large fraction of the older generation is struggling to understand and use the technology. With the introduction of information technology, things have changed rapidly over the last two decades. E-mail and instant messaging have replaced snail mail and telegraph. Twitter and news websites have replaced television and radio as the preferred source to quickly disseminate news. Common tasks such as booking tickets for a movie or travel can be done in minutes using a smartphone. Money transfers can be made in seconds using online banking. The younger generation has picked up the technology very quickly. Using a computer is now taught in the primary school itself so that the children can learn the skills that later will be helpful in every arena of life. A large fraction of the older generation, however, struggle using technology in daily life. This is because, unlike youngsters, older people could not learn computers. They had little time and motivation to learn and embrace technology in their daily life. Today, the world is moving towards a polarised society, where one group of people uses and depends on technology for their daily tasks, while the other group prefers working the traditional way. This difference in the way we live our daily life is eventually creating a divide in the society, which must be addressed for sustaining social harmony.