that television has destroyed communication between friends and families

Interaction between family and friends has spark alot of controversies due to the introduction of television and other electronic devices like the mobile phone. Some people are of the view that television has eliminated communication between friends and families while other think otherwise. I strongly agree to this view point and I'm going to give some reasons why in this essay. Firstly, people may argue that television has brought a sense of belonging to relatives and peers because most of them often watch television together. Although this reason may seem right, it also applies to less 45% of families and friends. A research by the UG team in Ghana revealed that most people(80%) prefer not be engaged in form of communication when watching television. Another fact from the research is that, 95% of the people interviewed said that they prefer to watch movies alone at home than to hang up with their friends or relatives. This trending attitude has brought an abrupt connection between loved ones leading to peer pressure among the youth. This is because families do not get time for each other prefer to watch television than engage their children or relatives in a conversation to know how they are faring. Again, since the introduction of television in many home there have been an increase in social vices like drug abuse, arm robbery and even prostitution. This is a result of movies and music videos displaying violent and harmful acts on the screens. Alot of the youth engaging in these acts are as a result of these scenes. In conclusion, I think television has done more harm than good through the increase in social vices and peer pressure among the youth.