“Test scores are the only way to judge the competency of a student. ”

School was born early, and students could attend to learn about everything. The types of tests have evolved and influenced the thinking of students and parents. While many people believe that test scores are the only way to measure a student's ability, I personally disagree with this point of view. In my opinion, a low score does not mean a student is incompetent. Test scores basically show how well a person does on a test. Strictly speaking, a test score is a way of assessing a student's ability to take a test from a variety of places. Scores are simply one component of the assessment and should not be relied upon solely. For example, if one student cannot get a good grade due to psychological problems or an unforeseen situation, while the other students try to cheat to get a good grade, we can see that competence cannot be measured by scores because everyone has a talent within them, even poor learners. Everyone has the potential to succeed if they work hard and push themselves. Some people continue to assert that test scores are the only way to judge the competency of a student. It's somewhat rigid and antiquated to jump to conclusions so quickly. For instance, cheating students can also get as high as some students trying to study. Assessing students' abilities through grades is probably not fair to students who try really hard. Or we can see that, statistically, individual students are more likely to succeed in different fields when their scores are not all that high. So the score is just a number and it doesn't completely measure the ability of a student. In short, test scores are an essential part of student learning. It can still assess the ability of some students at a given time. Nevertheless, in my view, grades are not the only way to assess a student's ability because, when entering society, perhaps grades are meaningless. It only represents the student's history, and many other abilities are needed, such as the ability to practice and the ability to innovate. So you need to try to improve your score and, besides, you need to improve your other skills.