Test and examinations are a central feature of school systems in many countries. Do you think the educational benefits of testing outweigh any disadvantages? Give reasons and examples.

In several nations, exams and tests are common attribute in schools. Some argue that testing system is creating a lot of stress in students and parents but in my view, examination system has more advantages than drawbacks. Schools strictly follow a designed curriculum to teach children and test their knowledge. If exams are not conducted students will not have seriousness for studies and will not benefit from education. With the results in the exams, teachers get to know about the capability of the students and train them accordingly depending on their grasping power. Moreover, students can also motivate themselves to do well in the next exams. In addition to this, if students want to apply for any scholarship for higher education, they have to give exams. These days, most of the universities offer scholarships to student on merit. For example, when I joined my graduation, university fees was high and not affordable for me, one of our university staff informed me about the scholarship and when I applied for the scheme, officials had validated all my credits scored in previous year and this helped me to pay my graduation fees. However, at present, schools conduct exams every month or weekly, due to which children feel stressed and pressurized which negatively impacts on their health. To overcome this, schools should have exams annually and this will also save papers used in tests. Instead other evaluation methods should be adopted like group discussions, viva, practical exam or even open book exam which will not just test their theoretical knowledge but analytical and conversational skills. In conclusion, exams and tests benefits students by test their skills and knowledge. It helps them to understand their areas of strengths and weakness and improve accordingly but they should not take too much exam pressure.