Tell about how you converted your fear into your success

I used to be a very shy person. Interacting with a stranger even by just standing next to him was the hardest experience in the world for me. Until my parents told me that from fifth grade I will be studying in an international school. A variety of people, faces, nationalities, cultures, personalities. How is it like to talk with them? From where should I start? Can I just sit in my place and don’t bother anyone? I haven’t had any other choice. If I wanted to survive, I had to communicate. I learned how to do the first step towards a person I want to learn about. It was hard since I was only starting to learn English and knew some basic words like “Hey” “How are you? ” “What’s your name? ” and they had advanced knowledge of the language. On the third day of school, I saw the victim, standing in the corridor in front of her locker. Seems she is my age. Twenty-three steps towards her, deep breath, and “Hi, My name is Shahzoda? ” She looked at me with a questioning face, but after immediately softened and said “Oh hi, my name is Nada Saleh Alzahrani, you can call me just Nada”. I breathed out with relief. Now I have a friend from Saudi Arabia and it was amazing. It turned out she has been studying here for almost 3 years, so she showed me the whole school campus and introduced me to some friends of hers. They were completely different from my first idea of them. Friendly, supportive, kind, and caring human beings. I learned about their cultures, traditions and when my mom was taking me home I was so excited to tell her about different countries and how wonderful they are. At home, I was opening Google and was learning about countries, their placement, population, national clothes, and foods myself. Learned the dates of their national holidays so on that day I will be able to congratulate them. That year my biggest fear turned into my biggest desire. I loved to communicate and now it is the best part of my personality. Our nationalities, races, religions, and orientations may be different, but we all are humans. The decision of my parents to change my school has changed my life by 180 degrees and now I want to work with people, to contact them, to help and spend my time among them. I’m proud that I was brave and fought my fear. I succeeded.