Lectures were used in the past when there were the participation of many students. With modern technology available for education, there is no justification for this way of teaching.

Face-to-face lectures are being slowly being replaced by online courses due to the fast-paced development of technology. Although some people might think that there is no need for traditional lectures anymore, I believe they still play an important role in students’ development. There are numerous benefits to attending physical lectures. Firstly, consistent attendance in lectures can improve a student’s discipline. For college students, this can be considered preparation for their future career, as they would have to be present and punctual at their offices during office hours. Secondly, physical lectures promote human interaction, most importantly between professors and students. This will save time for students as they can just ask their questions and receive responses immediately. Lastly, physical lectures are also a chance for students to meet up and socialize with their classmates, which is a huge bonus as there are researches showing young people are becoming more and more lonely in their lives. However, I also understand why college students prefer online lectures to face-to-face ones. It is a fact that college-level materials can be difficult to understand at the first try. This is why many universities are providing online lectures for students to review them as many times as they like. Moreover, students can pause the lecture videos for immediate in-depth reading, which is something physical lectures do not allow. Another thing is that not everyone learns the most efficiently at the same time. Rather than giving a lecture physically in the morning, which is something some college students do not prefer. Professors can instead post online lecture videos and let students watch them in their own time. To conclude, although I think that new technologies definitely make education more convenient, physical lectures are still of vital importance and cannot be replaced entirely by technology. Professors should only provide online lectures in the form of recordings of physical ones.