Television is a technological device which delivers entertainment and information.

Television is a technological device which delivers entertainment and information. Watching TV has become a common recreational activity for quite a long time, especially for kids around the globe. However, there are a lot of arguments surrounded its benefits and drawbacks. This essay will discuss both sides of watching TV in details. To begin with, television has a myriad of advantages which plays an essential role in child’s personal growth. Firstly, television acts as an efficient source of learning. TV provides a wide variety of educational programs from Maths, Science, History to Language which enables them to broaden their knowledge about a particular subject and assists them in deciding their future career. Furthermore, children can learn moral lessons in a fun way by watching cognitive channels which are specially dedicated to them. For example, programs about animal planet or environment can raise children’ awareness about preserving forest or wild species in general. Lastly, TV series or children’s programs are sources of entertainment which can help children to alleviate pressure effectively after a tiring day at school. Admittedly, TV also has some negative impacts on children. Needless to say, it can cause some physical problems such as eye-strain and obesity. Besides, over-watching may result in addition, wastage of time and lack of concentration. Moreover, prolonged exposure may affect their studies. It is very common for children to spend many hours without supervision and forget that they have to do homework, or do not rest properly because they go to bed late watching programs. To conclude, every coin has two sides, and watching TV is no exception. Howerver, I believe that the benefits of TVs outweigh the demerits that it causes. Using TV in moderation and under parents’ guidance is beneficial for children’s entertainment and studying. Provided TVs are used in a responsible manner, there is no limit to the value that this device adds to the world.