Technological developments in this modern era have transformed the way we socialize

Everything has two sides, and the ‘effects of technology on people’s relationship’ is not an exception. We cannot deny how much technology transformed the individual reaction with others in his family and the surrounding community. There are both pros and cons of this development First and foremost, I think that the development of technology has enhanced the relationships people make and maintain. We have different fast and cheap methods to call our family and friends. In addition, we are informed on a daily basis with the last updates and news about our friends and family, so we can remember the birthdays, graduation parties and even marriage anniversary. For instance, when a student studies abroad and stays far away from his or her family and friends, social networking sites and other applications can help the student stay connected with his or her family and friends through Skype, In my opinion, in this case, this is a positive development to deal with homesickness or maintain our interactions with people we care about. By comparing to the past decade, when technology was not so advanced, people had to depend on letters to communicate with each other and that was a time-consuming method and it incurred higher cost In fact, the implication of technology on people’s relationship is a controversial issue. On the one hand, it is a positive development for helping people stay connected with family and friends and making new friends. On the other hand, the technology is affecting individual relationship badly, especially those who are addicted to using social networking platforms. As a matter of fact, people become talking to each other in a face-to-face method rarely. In particular, people’s personalities are changing so much, because of addiction in using Facebook. It’s one of the vital reasons to decrease confidence and self-esteem. Overall, as far as I am concerned, the advancement of technology has both positive and negative effects on the kind of relationships people make. We have to be aware that actual interaction is more important to enhance a relationship. We shall connect with family and friends virtually only if we are apart from them.