Technological development in earlier times brought more changes to the life of ordinary people than recent technological developments have brought.

It is undeniable that technology has permeated every aspect of our lives. It is believed that primitive advancements in technology are comparatively more beneficial than the ones in the modern era. While this may be true to some extent, I believe the nature of the changes created by recent technological advancements are unique, and efficient in order to meet these fast-paced eras demand. The first merit of contemporary technological developments is their easy affordability. Due to mass production policies, the cost of various commodities dropped considerably. Owing to this, people can easily afford these at competitive prices. The mobile phone is a primary example as it is now accessible to almost every individual which was not possible earlier. Secondly, convenience is another positive aspect of modern technology. With the help of research and development centres, the bulky parts of machines have been replaced with lighter yet stronger material. As a result, it is easier to carry them from one place to another. Modern computers, for example, are sleek and speedy in comparison to earlier room-sized scientific computers. Thirdly, modern technology is more eco-friendly and durable than its older versions because subtle modifications and up-gradations make the products more environmentally friendly by reducing their emissions. To exemplify, the latest steel manufacturing units set up by Tata the group produces approximately seventy per cent less carbon dioxide than the earlier machines. Eventually, the environment can be protected from the harmful emissions produced by the use of technology. On the other hand, technological development alters life in unimaginable ways. What the invention of the track did for locomotion in the times gone by, Boeing 707 has done for our times. If anaesthesia killed the pain, the vaccine for polio has saved millions from otherwise inevitable handicaps. To conclude, despite earlier inventions helped mankind in various ways, I firmly believe that new improvements in technology have proved to have greater positive impacts on the environment and the society than older ones.