Technological advances have brought about numerous detrimental impacts on the environment.

Technological advances have brought about numerous detrimental impacts on the environment. While it is believed that it is essential for people to have simpler lives in order to deal with environmental issues, I would argue that we can tackle these problems thank to the improvements of technology. On the one hand, there are several reasons why some think that individuals need to live simpler lives and rely less on technology. Firstly, in the modern world, the number of vehicles such as motorcycles or automoblies manufactured and used is increasing, which releases a huge amount of exhausted fumes into the air and makes it seriously polluted. Therefore, there are suggestions that people should walk or cycle instead of using motor vehicles. Secondly, in order to meet the demand for power, natural resources such as fossil fuels are exploited by factories to generate electricity, posing a serious threat to the environment. As a result, people should try to reduce the consumption of electricity so as to contribute to protection of the environment. An annual event called Earth Hour, for example, is an occasion when everyone is asked to turn their electric devices off for 60 minutes. On the other hand, I believe that with the developments of technology, it is much easier for people to address environmental damage. The initial reason for this is that individuals are able to come up with solutions to recycle materials like paper or glass. This can help to reduce the amount of domestic waste that is disposed of. Another reason for my opinion is that technology can help to create electric power by availing of renewable energy sources. For instance, many nations in the world have constructed plants that utilise solar energy to generate electricity. Consequently, we do not need to rely on non-renewable resources and are able to produce electricity without causing severe damage to the environment.