Task 2: Many people are working longer hours. Why is this happening? What problems can this cause to people?

It is a common thing that people are more and more working full time in today’s world. There are a number of reasons behind this, and several negative consequences to the employees. To begin with, the reasons can be explained why workers have to work a long time per day. First, there are obviously more businesses who want to provide a variety of products to their customers to gain more revenue and profit. This means that if the companies want to reach the target plan like the number of export goods, they could require their employees to work longer hours and then pay extra for them. Furthermore, during the Covid-19 and social distancing, some enterprises limit the number of workers and keep workers who have experience, those have to do more several tasks than before. By laying off some people, companies may optimize their costs such as incentives, wages. On the other hand, some problems can be anticipated that cause the employees. If they work long hours on a daily basis, their health will be seriously affected. As the employees work over a long day with short sleep, it is easy for them to skip their meals, which eventually leads to negative consequences for their health such as headache and heart attack. Besides, with working under long hours per day, the employees are under pressure, which results in productivity reduction. This means that business performance may not get the target plan and cause a lack of revenue. In conclusion, there are two reasons, including providing more products to customers and optimizing business costs, for this notion. Some problems can be involved in causing to employees who work long hours a day.