In many countries, school-age children spend their free time doing homework. Is it a good or a bad thing? Give examples based on your own experience.

In modern times, parents are increasingly concerned with their children's activities after they finish the school day. In light of these concerns, some parents choose to have them do homework in their free time, but nowadays there is debate about whether this has more positive or negative effects. After considering all angles of this controversial question, the more long-term solution is to take the attention off homework and place it on the value of family time and playing. Without question, children should not merely do homework in their free time because this would harm the family's development. It is harmful to a child to only complete homework in free time because this prevents them from improving family relationships, and ultimately these relationships inspire overcoming challenges that lead to long-term success in life. In addition to improving relationships, family values allow us to have healthy friendships and motivation in life, but if the student is only doing homework instead of learning these lessons, they will become a social outcast as they get older. Outside of the family time argument, we can point to other factors that lead to rejecting a strict focus on homework. The values learned from playing during free time at home cannot be underestimated, and therefore we should reject the idea of only doing homework. When children play, they learn relationship skills such as overcoming conflict and making new friendships. Not only is that point valuable to understand, but also playing teaches how to enjoy life in ways that homework cannot accomplish because when doing homework, a student is solitary and isolated. These supporting points of relationship skills and learning to appreciate life indeed demonstrate that playtime should be just as, if not more important, than homework. Sometimes, when we focus only on academics, such as homework, we miss out on essential life components, such as family development and playing with others. Homework is not the all and end all of a child's success. If children played more and spent additional time learning family values, they would be more successful in school and life.