Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument.

In this modern life, people perform at least one musical instrument, which will give them more opportunities to develop in the future. Some schoolteachers say that every student should learnhow to play musical sounds. Personally, I agree with the opinion for the two reasons that it helps the learners develop intelligence and discover their hobbies. On the one hand, it is somehow reasonable to say that every students should not learn how to play musical sounds. Firstly, this can be a time-consuming journey that takes a lifetime of dedication. For example, for a child to be skillful enough, children must not only undergo several years with trainers but also allocate plentiful time for self-practice. As a result, all students will bored and do not want to learn. Secondly, learning music performances may be expensive as well. A good example, parents must pay for weekly music lessons, books, concerts, costumes, examination fees, or musical instruments. So, not all families can facilitate or afford their offspring’s musical instrument pursuits. On the other hand, it is hard to deny that learning a musical instrument will be good for many people. The first reason is that people perform at least one musical instrument, which helps children develop intelligence. For instance, many studies have consistently illustrated that learning a musical instrument can improve children’s critical thinking, problem-solving skills, language performance, and memory. Therefore, music skills are likely to lead to other intellectual capacities. The second reason is that being able to play a musical instrument can be a mentally and physically healthy hobby. Namely, children can grow up with positive emotional states nurtured by the rhymes and melodies they play. Thus, this can help children minimize using electronic gadgets or playing video games which are certainly problematic for them if they abuse these activities. In conclusion, while it is true that music lessons can cause financial and time issues to some, it is my perspective that children, especially those with an aptitude for music, should have the opportunity to learn a musical instrument.