Sustainable Development and living

Sustainable living requires a lifestyle shift that must be adopted by individuals, businesses and government entities. Simply recycling when we think of it is not enough to change the destructive patterns that have already begun to take place as a result of over-consumption. A sustainable lifestyle takes into account eating, transportation, socialization, energy use, waste disposal and more. Simply put, being sustainable is meeting the needs of the present without compromising the ability of future generations to meet their own needs. Sustainability is not just an environmental issue; it’s also an economic one. Not only does one-fifth of the population have access to most of the planet’s environmental resources, we have access to most of the planet’s economical resources including education and healthcare. Sixty percent of the global south do not have access to basic sanitation and 25% do not have adequate housing. We have more jobs, more land and more information available to help us make decisions about our health and our families than most of the world. Unless standards of living change, inhabitants of developing nations will continue to be plagued by poverty and malnourishment, while their populations continue to grow. Sustainability can be part of the answer to alleviating poverty worldwide. Sustainability doesn’t just mean reducing energy use and emissions; it means increasing access to jobs, promoting responsible trade and decreasing poverty rates.