Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

As the time is changing and world is coming along, we are moving towards an era of Globalization. Though it is a very debatable topic which we have here and hence, it requires proper scrutinization of topic before coming onto the conclusion. To embark on, initially starting off with the cons of selling only nation made products in the supermarkets. There are multifarious reasons that contradict the statement. First is that it will restrict free trade policy within nations. Secondly, it will create a barrier to understand different culture and food. It will not only have the impact on economy at micro level but the growth will be impacted at global level as well. It might even lead to inflation as large business houses/manufacturing units might hoard the products leading to less supply and which in turn lead to increase in demand altogether leading to significant rise in the prices of the food. On the other hand, talking about the other side of the coin. As per some intellectualist in the country, they support that supermarkets should sell food products that are made in that particular nation, restring the imports from overseas. There are also multiple reasons to support this argument, Firstly, it will lower the pressure on the local manufacturers and will provide them equal opportunity in the market. Secondly, the sale of local products will increase leading to growth of economy and rise in employment level. Thirdly, people will start consuming local products leading to better understanding of their culture in terms of food. However, in my opinion, it becomes the responsibility of the government to create an equilibrium between the imports from overseas and local products. Nothing should overpower each other. Government should focus on policies which should encourage globalization keeping in mind the local manufacturers/vendors. In the end, I conclude by saying that until and unless there is equality at both ends, it really does not matter what the supermarkets should sell(local or imported products), at the end one needs to know importance of every aspect.