Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Some people around the world hold an argument against the import of foreign foods in their nations while believing that only domestically produced foods should be sold in supermarkets. Nevertheless, my thoughts collide with that perspective and this following essay will analyze it in detail. From an economical perspective, the stance that supermarkets should sell only national-made foods is devoid of any merit considering that there might be a significant growth in the cost of food production. Indeed, each country is oftentimes associated with a distinct climate that is commonly suitable for growing certain foods whereas this weather can be a hindrance to produce other kinds of foods that people might enjoy. Therefore, more financial resources need to be allocated to construct specialized places than crops and livestock can be nurtured normally to produce food. Accordingly, importing these sorts of foods enable countries to cut down on food production expense and prioritize their expenditure on other necessary developments such as improving agricultural methods or enhancing the customer services of supermarkets. A contrary school of thought however claims that the prevalence of international trading food could deteriorate the air quality across the globe. The reason is that more means of transportation might be operated to serve the growing demand for food import and export activities, leading to a greater amount of emissions released into the air from the engine of vehicles. Consequently, this tendency may inflict adverse impacts on people's health including respiratory diseases, which should not be sacrificed just for serving their eating satisfaction. However, this headache can be tackled in the long run with the inventions of environmentally friendly public transportation that have already been manufactured and preferred in some parts of the world. After weighing all the aforementioned, I can safely deduce that domestically and internationally produced foods should be sold in supermarkets because its existing concern of harmful influence on the environment can be addressed in some upcoming years.