Supermarkets sell more and more food that is imported from another countrues instead of food that is produced locally. Why the reasons for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays the number of supermarkets which sell the food commodities that are imported from other countries has been increasing dramatically. Indeed, the owners of supermarkets have a great tendency to sell imported food instead of local products. There are several reasons behind their inclination to sell overseas food. This circumstance raises a fundamental question: whether selling imported food instead of local one could be considered as a positive or negative development. People are split on answering this question. Some of them claim that its merits offset drawbacks. On the contrary, the second group takes an issue with the first one and they assert that it could be considered as a negative development due to the issue that its demerits outweigh advantages. I subscribe to a view of the second group due to the several rational explanations which will be discussed in the next paragraphs. These days supermarkets sell more important food products because not only do they have a prohibitive price in comparison with local productions but also they can attract the attention of customers. To elaborate more, due to the fact that considerable tax and transportation fees incure on imported food products, they are more expensive compared to the food which is produced by local people. Hence, owners of supermarkets can make a profit significantly. Furthermore, the majority of people believe that important food commodities have more quality compared to local food, subsequently, they prefer to purchase overseas foods. Therefore, owners of supermarkets can attract customer's attention and money by selling food productions that are imported from other countries and make a substantial profit. Some people who are the proponents of this trend contend that it could be a positive development because it creates many job vacancies in the trade sector and results in a prosperous economic climate in society. I dissent from this insight due to the issue that this trend has increased the rate of unemployment. To clarify, as a result of indulging in selling overseas food productions, many food-producing companies and farmers have experienced bankruptcy and countless laborers who have been recruited by them lose their jobs. Had the supermarket avoided indulging in selling important food, the rate of unemployment would not have increased. In addition, the detrimental impacts of overseas food products on human beings’ physical health should not be underestimated. According to research, product commodities contain a large number of food additives and preservatives in order to maintain them during long hours of transportation. These materials have been classified in the mutant elements category which leads to a mutation in humankind’s genome materials and leads to enormous types of cancer specifically digestive system cancer. According to statistics, the rate of cancer among the population has been growing substantially as a result of this development. Moreover, it brings about devastating effects on the environment. Indeed, the root of many environmental problems lies in indulging in importing food from other countries. These overseas food productions are imported for long hours by transportation vehicles that utilize fossil fuels in order to generate energy. Fossil fuels bring about insurmountable environmental problems including climate change, global warming, and air contamination. In conclusion, despite the fact that selling imported food products in supermarkets may create job opportunities in the trade sector, its devastating impacts on society's economic climate, environment, and human health should not be ignored. Therefore, new rules needed to be formulated in order to control this new trend.