Summary for the topic: Remote Workers Work Longer, Not More Efficiently

The article mentions remote working. The author begins the thesis with “remote working” research. Many workers, in particular, use a cross-structure that includes roughly three days each week at the office and the remaining at home. Simultaneously, remarks of its productiveness are growing. Other surveys also show that home-working did not decrease productivity. However, research at an Asia technology company expresses opposite aspects. Through dedicated tracking software, employees work more diligently. Total working hours increased by 30% containing an 18% rise in overtime hours. Regardless, productivity dropped by 20%. These result from several reasons. Firstly, employees’ concentration is lowered or disrupted by calls or emails, and they always spend extra time participating in annual meetings. Secondly, the managers are not sure about the quality of work and hold more meetings. Finally, the need for meetings comes from difficulties coordinating employees when they work remotely. Because of these factors, far-flung labor is inefficient, and workers have less time to be standardized and trained directly. Another consequence is not receiving overtime money though meeting time is longer than commuting time. However, workers behaved in various ways. Long-term employees, for example, work effectively because they can recognize concerns when working from home, such as child care. In brief, employees learned how to use their time efficiently by participating in fewer and shorter meetings.