Several people in the society believe that professional sportsmen or sportswomen can act inappropriately on and off the ground if they are playing great and getting medals for their countries. What is your opinion?

Several people in the society believe that professional sportsmen or sportswomen can act inappropriately on and off the ground if they are playing great and getting medals for their countries. Being a sports participant, I strongly disagree with this fact, as athletes are role model to many people in the country, especially the youngsters. Also, they represent the nation and maintaining the reputation of the country is in their hands. Athletes misbehaving on the ground can largely influence the minds of the young generation, as youngsters follow them and usually try to imitate their role models. This may lead to violence and misconduct in the society. There should always be a fair play between the teams, having healthy rivalry is good as it boosts your confidence, but it should not cross the limits. Recently, my nephew had a fight in his school while playing cricket, and later he admitted that his ideal sportsperson also behaves in a similar way on the ground. In my opinion, it is very much important for a sports person to maintain their ethics and standard which indeed helps young minds to learn from them. Another important fact is that athletes represent the country, and their utmost responsibility is to preserve the image of the nation. They not only have to think for themselves but also for the entire nation. These professional sports people are always crowded by the media, so they must be very cautious while behaving on and off the ground. How can we forget that a popular cricket team was banned for 2 consecutive years due to their misbehavior on the pitch while playing for the World cup? Therefore, such kind of misconduct can lead to have detrimental effects for the nation. In my point of view, behavior is one of the essential factors which ultimately reflects the attitude. Irrespective of how good an individual is in a specific sport; I firmly disagree on the ignorance of their misconduct or any inappropriate act on and off the ground.