Sugar diet essay Academic

The ever-increasing amount of sugar people consume nowadays and its link to health problems is extremely concerning. I am convinced that implementing a tax to make high-sugar foods less affordable is an excellent way to discourage sugar consumption. Consuming lots of sugar in your diet can be highly detrimental to your health. Research has shown that a lot of diseases such as obesity and type 2 diabetes are caused by a poor diet. Having a sustained high sugar intake may cause insulin-resistance, which can in turn lead to obesity and diabetes. Sugary goods are extremely addictive. Eating sugar makes us crave more sugar, to the extent that some people claim that they don’t ever feel like they have eaten enough when they are consuming high-sugar foods. For instance, I may be well-served when I finish dinner, but if my mother were to offer me a piece of cake for dessert, I would suddenly feel like I could continue eating. It is of utmost importance to find ways to discourage sugar consumption. The strategy of increasing the price of something to prevent people from buying it has proved to be effective on many occasions. For instance, in my country, putting a tax on cigarettes to make them more expensive, caused cigarette sales to decrease dramatically. Similarly, If the prices of sugary goods increase, people will be more likely to choose other products to stick to their budget. Overall, a high-sugar diet can have a very negative impact on our body, and therefore efforts should be made to decrease sugar consumption. Making sugary products more expensive is a great approach to this problem, as it has been effective in other fields.