Successful sports professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. Some people think this is fully justified, while others think it is unfair.

Successful athletes make a big amount of money compared to other important professions. Some people see this as something that is totally fair. Why is it just fair? Because some sports are simply popular, for example soccer, that they attract a lot of sponsors. Hence, the money. Moreover, athletes need a lot of dedication to be successful. To make achievement, they have to go through a lot of training that take time. The money they earn is proportional to their capability and accomplishment, so the more successful they are the more money they make. It is fair because they deserve it and the money is considered as merit-based. On the other hand, it is unfair to think how some important profession are not paid well enough. Doctors, teacher, farmers, and other important professionals even sometimes are struggling to pay their basic living. It would not be fair if we compare the benefit that we receive from them versus how much we pay them. Meanwhile, the benefit that we get from athletes sometimes is just for the sake of entertainment. Furthermore, some professions could be life-risking, for example, doctors during pandemic. Lastly, some professions really contribute a lot to the advancement of humanity, for instance, scientist and engineer. What they do is something that athletes could never give.