The recent article on subdivided units in Hong Kong has stirred up heated controversies on weather or not it should exist.

The recent article on subdivided units in Hong Kong has stirred up heated controversies on weather or not it should exist. While a lot of people strongly against the appearance of subdivided houses, saying that it is inhumane and makes tenants’ live miserable, I personally support it as I believe that at least these houses render people a roof. Following I will stating my reasons and provide several suggestions to landlords for improving the life quality of their tenants. First and foremost, subdivided unit is a kind of special house in Hong Kong, which is extremely narrow and can only accommodate a bed as well as a container for belongings. In some peoples’ eyes, this is a terrible place and not suitable for human to live, but to those impoverished citizens, it is actually the last straw that can help them. If there are no existence of subdivided houses, the poor will certainly be more seriously affected. By virtue of expensive private house, they may become homeless people and be forced to sleep in McDonald’s at night or live under flyover. In contrast, providing cheaper subdivided units improves their life a little bit and at least gives them a place to avoid when disasters coming such as typhoon. A table can be set on bed, which also provide children with a space to finish homework after school. Aren’t subdivided units necessary for them? However, although the price of subdivided unit is lower than private one, landlords still need to reduce it in order to improve tenants’ life. Hong Kong is a international city with almost the highest price level around the world, not only on house but also on food, clothes and transportation. As a result, the sum of these number produces a massive pressure on a group of people who have low income, which may cause mental diseases like depression, to name but a few. Therefore, if a landlord would like to assist those individual, one of the best methods is to adjust house price to a suitable situation for both two sides. Since, it not merely decreases their pressure, but can also let them spend more money on the other aspects of the life and increase their quality of life as well. Besides, another action that landlords can do is to promote living environment. Nowadays most of subdivided house in Hong Kong are not safe enough for citizens to live. Some of that do not equip with windows, which make people can not breath fresh air or see sunlight. Consequently, the more and more psychological problems will be produced in this enclosed space. So why don’t landlords ‘opening’ a window for them? All in all, I am all for the view of the need of subdivided for the poor as I believe it plays a crucial role to let them find a home that belongs to themselves. Also, to continually improve their life quality, lower prices and opening a window is necessary for landlords to enforce.