successful sport professionals can earn a great deal more money than people in other important professions. some people think this is fully justified while others think it is unfair. discuss both view and give your own opinion.

The salaries of sports professionals are much higher than those of people in other professions. Some believe that this is the right approach, whereas others consider this to be unjustifiable. In my opinion, there should not be a significant difference between the earnings of sports people and other professionals. Those who support the high earnings of sports professionals claim that the sports stars should earn high salaries because they are under constant pressure to perform. In addition to this, they are highly skilled people who bring name and fame for the country. Talented sports men and women can even enhance the reputation of their country by winning international championships. Yet, there is no justification for giving them astronomical salaries especially since their contribution for improving the lives of their fellow people is negligible. On the other hand, there are other professions such as teaching and medicine which are even more important than sports. The amount of money one makes should be equivalent to the value of service one provides to the society. Teachers play an important role in imparting knowledge and shaping the character and personality of children. Similarly doctors work tirelessly to save precious lives. These professionals should earn high salaries because of their valuable services. But this is not the case. For example, the annual salary of a teacher is less than the single match fee of cricketers in India. This cannot be justified in any way. To conclude, I believe that a huge gap in the salaries of sportspersons and other professionals is neither fair nor healthy and hence the government should enact policies to narrow this pay gap. The government should raise the salaries of other valuable professions and meanwhile collect higher taxes from sports professionals to ensure balance in the society.