Students should read novels or real books

I am a bookworm and I read books one after another at such a fast speed that it looks like the world is near to its end. When I was a student, I read both realistic and fictional books; however, if I was to choose only one category, I’d rather novels than any other genre. In the following essay I try to explore the reasons why I prefer the novels. In my opinion, the primary purpose of reading a book is having fun, and becoming detached from the real world. The reality is something that I am experiencing through every minute of my life. I need a window to have some hours off-the-reality. Reading books is meant to be a hobby, i. e. an activity that one does for having a happy and relaxing time. In daily life, we receive bad news, we deal with problems and challenges, we are limited by the physical characteristics of the known universe, and we live a normal life. On the other hand, in a novel, we can join the story characters and dive into a world that we may never experience in our normal lives. Moreover, novels are creative products of human beings, which nurture our imagination. Creative minds need to be fed by proper food. When I was a kid, I used to concoct stories from different books that my parents read to me. My mom says that the stories were so well-structured that she expected me to become a novelist in the future. After a few years, I started to tell stories to my little siblings as well as my classmates, all based on my imagination. As an adult, I owe a big part of my active imagination to all the stories and novels I read along my school years. Finally, Students learn about the real world by the help of the teachers and school books. There is no further need to spend time on similar books in their spare time; considering the fact that books are not perfect resources for obtaining information. They are usually out-dated, compared to newspapers or the internet. If I would like to find some documents, or read about real events, I rather use the Internet. It is faster, has a diverse content, and is very up to the date. In conclusion, I believe that students should read more novels; because it helps them to get relaxed, improves their creativity, and not to waste their valuable time on some old information in books.