Focused versus broadened university studies

Years of university education comprise one of the most memorable as well as critical periods in the lives of highly educated people. Although it has a deep influence on the students’ view of the taught subjects, being involved in learning a diverse array of subjects has some drawbacks. I provide some arguments below to explain why I prefer specialized studies at universities, rather than broadened ones. For the beginning I would like to remind us of the main role of higher education, which is preparing the students for their future professions. Despite the undeniable influence of having a diversified range of knowledge on the depth of our understanding of job related issues, the most crucial part of our knowledge is the professional one. We can acquire our general knowledge by personal studies. However, it is less probable that we learn specialized subjects by self-study. Thus, I believe that in university the focus of education should be put on the subjects that are required for becoming professional. In addition, I shall indicate that going through extra subjects and courses is equal to extended years of academic education, which in turn delays the time that students can start their economic roles. Length of the academic education should be kept as short as practical; so that the fresh workforce be injected to the economy pool without losing valuable time. Time is money; and it is not wise to spend it without reservations. Moreover, education has its costs, both for the students and for the governments. Broadened fields of study leads to extra years of formal education. Thus, going to the university will become even further costly. The cost to effectiveness ratio is a logical measure to evaluate a decision in this regard. I am not personally willing to pay any extra expense for my education. Prioritizing the necessary subjects results in cutting expenses, as well as reducing debts of education. To sum it up, I strongly believe that having a specific field of study in university is a reasonable and wise choice. It focuses on what is mandatory for a specific profession, reduces the cost of education, and economically benefits the society.