STATES ARE SPENDING ON MUSEUMS AND HISTORICAL PLACES. SOME PEOPLE THINK THAT THIS MONEY IS WASTED AND IT NEEDS TO BE SPENT ON BASIC FACILITIES OF GENERAL PUBLIC. DO YOU AGREE DISAGREE?

In the last few years, governments have started investing in museums and historical sites to promote tourism. A section of people feel it's not a good decision and the same money can be used to improve the public infrastructure. I agree that the government should first focus on providing better services to the public instead of maintaining historical places like monuments and museums. The condition of public transport is miserable in most of the developing countries and citizens of those countries suffer a lot on a daily basis. For instance, in India, there has been a surge in train and road accidents due to damaged roads and railway tracks. Transport ministry should sanction funds to repair them as it will drastically bring down mishaps. However, if the same amount is invested in repairing monuments or building museums it is true that this will help in bring revenue to the government but at the same time public will pay the price by losing their lives because of poor transportation service. In addition, traffic issue is also a widespread problem in most of the cities in India and lack of revenue has forced the government to halt metro rail service projects. For example, in the city which I live in Hyderabad, construction of metro rail near my home started a few years ago, however, it's still in progress due to unavailability of funds. Hence, in my opinion, tourists would like to visit places where there are proper transportation facilities available. Therefore, the first priority here should be to develop better services for its people rather than focusing on preserving historical sites. To conclude, I feel most of the people who live in urban cities desire safe and faster transport services and even tourists expect the same. Hence, it's important that governments should firstly focus towards betterment of facilities for public and once it's completed then the governments should move towards other works like developing historical places.