Some say that big sporting events, such as the Olympic Games are waste of money and resources.

With the advancement in digitisation and technology, sports tournaments such as the Olympics, commonwealth games etc. have become very popular these days. However, people are distributed over the issue of usage of excessive capital and resources over these events. I believe, these events bring the nations together and help in raising the status of the province among others. In this essay, I will elucidate why these events are important in detail. To being with, sports gives opportunities to repair and nurture the distorted ties among nations. Sports brings multiple nations under a single umbrella and spectators from distinct countries watch and enjoy with great spirit the live games together. They cheer for their favourite sportsperson ignoring the confrontations among their countries. For example, in the Commonwealth game 2010, held in India, both Indians and Pakistanis enjoyed the Hockey match held between two nations irrespective of the relationships between duo nations. Hence, such events provide a platform to know one another in a better way which contributes to replenishing the acrimonious bond. So, spending money and resources on such tournaments is better than spending on wars. Secondly, the medals won by the country brings respect and high status for it in the world. The fund used up in training the sportsperson, representing the nation at an international level, turns fruitful as the tally of medals in the league increases. This not only boosts the motivation of the player but also of the country to prepare more and more participants for the next games. For instance, when Mary Kom, boxing player from the small village of India, won the Gold medal, gave recognition to India as land who promotes and galvanise young talent. In addition to this, after this, other countries starting beholding India with a great sense of admiration which is again more valuable than any sort of money in this world. To conclude, I recapitulate that sporting activities are important for improving national ties and to earn a status quo in this world.