Sports commercialization is advantageous or not

People hold different views about whether sports commercialization is advantageous or not. While there are several drawbacks of sponsorship in sports, I believe the benefits are greater. On the on hand, financial support for sports can be highly problematic for many reasons. One of the critical drawbacks is its uncertainty for both sportspeople and brands. Typically, funding is contractually based on each program, so it is limited or quickly withdrawn if the athletes or clubs involved do not follow their obligations. Meanwhile, brands are not likely to control the sponsored entities and the entire risks of unsuccessful sports teams, making it tough to manage their monetary inflows and outflows. Another significant issue could be the excessive manipulation of sponsors. For example, to make a game more marketable, the sport's rules can be strictly changed over to what investors have required. Therefore, if a brand gets too much control over the specialized sports bodies, players might lose their professional core values. On the other hand, I would argue that the disadvantages of sport sponsorship pale in comparison with the advantages. Regarding brands, financing major-league games in various sports is an effective tool to build brand awareness and reach many potential customers. For instance, a lucrative sponsorship deal with Messi, a world-renowned footballer hailing from Argentina, would lead to the ubiquity of the Adidas brand through its logo and tagline displayed on every press. It has been translated into a surge in sales and revenues of this sportswear giant in recent years. At the same time, there is no need for funded sports organizations to worry about different costs, including training equipment, payment for coaching, and traveling expenses. Otherwise, many sportspeople struggled to earn a living and gradually lost their passion for professional games in the past. Hence, thanks to financial grants, athletes can have more time and motivation to focus on training and competing wholeheartedly. In conclusion, despite various drawbacks that sports funding has, it seems to me that they are far outweighed by the great benefits.