Spending time online has affected the communication skills of young people both positively and negatively. Discuss the effects of increased online activity on communication skills

There are many people who criticise the amount of time spent by young people online in modern times. These criticisms are mostly based on the fact that teenagers appear to be suffering from deteriorating social skills and spending less and less time exercising or being outside in the fresh air. However, increased time spent online may actually have the opposite effect on communication skills as outlined below. First of all, despite the growth in online communication, youngsters still communicate face-to-face in many situations, for example, when out and with family, so it is not true to say that the internet has curbed this kind of communication. In addition, although teenagers can shop and chat with friends online, they do continue to physically attend school and communicate with their classmates and teachers while there. Such situations provide ample opportunity for socialisation and can improve young people’s communicative abilities. Therefore, the claim that online communication is preventing social interaction could be considered as largely exaggerated. Secondly, the internet could be said to actually engender more flexibility in communication among young people. It has encouraged them to communicate in different ways which include mediums such as blogging and emailing, both of which are highly interactive. It is also possible for youngsters to communicate faceto-face via Skype. Following on from this, not only do teenagers interact in physical environments, they also do so in virtual environments, which actually promotes the use of a far wider range of communication means than was the norm in the past. This, it could be argued, results in them actually being more effective communicators than previous generations. In conclusion, technological advances in communication should not be viewed as negative; they have only served to add new ways of interaction, and as such, they have not superseded the traditional means we have of conversing with each other.