People are debating whether organic fruits and vegetables are worth the premium they command.

People are debating whether organic fruits and vegetables are worth the premium they command. People are usually reluctant to spend more money on organic foods; however, in my opinion, they are good for health and I don’t mind spending some extra money on them. Traditionally, we had been buying non-organic fruits and vegetables, until organic counterparts became available. With growing population, producing food has been challenging without using fertilizers or some sort of food steroids, but this has lead to degradation in quality and there are some serious health problems associated with it namely asthma, heart problems etc. Most fruits and vegetables are grown using GM (Genetically Modified) seeds, which are monopolized by big industry players such as Monsanto, DuPont etc. and farmers are forced to use these seeds in order for them to survive and pay off humongous loans. In developing countries, this has become a major problem for the entire population since the quality is far worse than it used to be. On the bright side, this has made people aware of the importance of consuming organic fruits and vegetables. Organic products used to be very expensive a few years back, but with growing popularity and demand the prices have come down. Organic fruits and vegetables contain no harmful chemicals, fertilizers, seeds etc. and this has been proven by the scientific studies in many countries. The same studies have also proven the health benefits of organic produce. In my opinion, people should think of organic produce as a good investment in their health, and should not hesitate to spare some more. In conclusion, I think organic fruits and vegetables are better than their non-organic counterparts and one hundred percent worth the extra money.