Space research is a waste of money. The government should spend money improving conditions of people living on earth.

Many critics argue that investment in space is a bad use of resources and the government should spend nation’s budget improving the quality of life on earth instead. However, I am strongly against this idea as space expenditures are crucial for humanity. Looking spaceward seems meaningless to numerous people due to the ongoing scourge of poverty, famine, racism, conflicts etc. Thus, it is the administration’s responsibility to pay attention to these urgent fields and ensure benefits for the general public. For instance, instead of constructing a space ship, the government should enhance the condition of water supplies in some regions. Nevertheless, all endeavours made nowadays are merely temporary solutions and in the future, humanity would suffer even more without off-world scientific explorations. Conducting galaxy researches is the vital key for human race’s long-term existence. In fact, the population is estimated to reach the huge number of 10 billion within subsequent few decades and eventually, the planet Earth will simply not big enough. What’s more, the Earth’s living condition have constantly been under acute threats and consequently, mankind would face what happened to the dinosaurs. Not to mention, we are running out of natural resources, therefore, looking for another habitable planet is imperative. But on top off that, off-world voyages have never been a zero-sum proposition since the space industry generates a giant market for other goods and services (houses, clothing, food, etc) as well as returning funds to the government through taxation. Actually, many space agencies are regarded as a massive money-spinning operation, in which every dollar contributed by the authorities is paid back ten-fold to nation in terms of the value of the jobs created. To conclude, space research is not a waste of money but a leap for mankind since it benefits not only developed countries but the whole planet.