Someone said our society is becoming a garbage society. What are the reasons for this, and how do you think we should deal with it?

Confucius said, “I love the bugs in my home, but I hate litterbugs. ” In this essay, I will focus on the reasons for all the garbage, the types of waste, and one possible solution. To initiate with, technological developments have resulted in products becoming useless (obsolete) much faster than before. Consumers have been brainwashed by the advertising industry to believe that they should buy the latest models of cars, computers, and household appliances. For example, new-generation computers containing improved hardware and software are replacing old ones at an astonishing rate. Car manufacturers are bringing out new models every year (annually) in order to boost their sales. In addition to this, waste is classified into two major categories—namely, biodegradable and undegradable. Biodegradable wastes are those that can be broken down by bacteria. Undegradables like plastics and rubber, however, cannot be broken down and have an everlasting (infinite) lifespan. For example, waste paper and wood can be absorbed by the soil in the form of compost. Compost is useful in commercial nurseries and private gardens. However, one of the solutions to at least reduce the garbage problem is to recycle. For example, many types of plastic and rubber can be melted down and used again as useful products. Plastic shopping bags have been used in new applications. I have briefly looked at the origins and types of waste and recycling as a solution. In conclusion, by educating the public and with more research into recycling methods, I believe our waste problems can be reduced.