should government spend more money on prevention of the diseases rather than spending it on cure

There is a saying, "prevention is better than cure. " Then why do governments all over the world spend a lot money treating diseases rather than preventing them? The human population is suffering from numerous ailments everywhere. It is better to cut the disease at its root before it starts causing havoc in the population. There are too many government organizations dedicated to treat the existing diseases. With the recent COVID-19 pandemic killing a percentage of the population, more resources were spent on finding the cure for the illness rather than finding better ways to prevent the spread of the virus. Having the disease already impacts the individual's day to day activities. if there are precautions taken to stop the disease spread at its core, lesser people will need the cure. Numerous deadly diseases can be easily prevented if people are made aware of the problem. For example, vitamin A deficiency is the most prevalent cause of blindness in the world, and it can be easily prevented by eating foods rich in the vitamins. The government should teach people how to have a balanced diet so as to stop the spread of the disease. Another common cause of illness all over the planet is the lack of sanitation. If the governments keep a part of their annual budget in keeping their country clean and free of pathogens, most of the diseases would be eliminated and they would not need programs to treat them in turn. The governments in the world should spare more resources in preventing the diseases rather than focusing on the cure. Most of the deadly diseases are preventable with the use of basic tactics like educating the people, better sanitation practices, and vaccination. Our species will benefit with not having to deal with illnesses