Some young people look forward to a year of traveling, a gap year before they begin work or university, and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others, this is an expensive waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A large number of adults are partial to gap year because of the opportunities provided for them to expand their view before absorbing by labor market or education environments, while others believe that it is costly and time-consuming. In my opinion, I believe, if people travel with the concept of collecting experience they will be more successful in their future. Losing a year can have a detrimental effect on a person's future life. In today's fast-paced world, people have to work harder than ever to keep up, so spending a year on a trip seems irrational. Besides, young people are not economically independent, and the cost of travel may put more pressure and expense on their parents, especially for some economically disadvantaged people. So a year off can be a costly year with time lost. Undoubtedly, not only does a gap year overdue attending university or entering the business world but also imposes an additional cost on them but obviously, the experience acquired from this long journey will change prospects of those that opt it before deciding for their educational and career future. One of the paramount decisions for each person is when we want to select the area to continue our study or work and reaching the best decision will occur when we accurately know ourselves. This cognition is simply achievable via dissimilar situations that we are intentionally or unintentionally located in the various journeys. Therefore, a gap year is the best time to know ourselves and expand not only our vision but also our knowledge of our life. In conclusion, treasure obtained from a gap year in traveling is so valuable that people spend one year of their lives on it and bear its costs.