Some young people are leaving the country to live in cities and towns leaving only old people in the countryside. Is this a positive or negative development

The migration of the younger generation to urban areas is leaving many rural areas populated predominantly by the elderly. This essay agrees with the fact that the younger people leaving the countryside can have problematic consequences. I believe the 2 most serious are the depletion of the rural workforce and the lack of education, the future generation will receive. When 18-30-year-olds move to towns and cities in search of new opportunities and start a new lifestyle, they leave the aging population to do all the work. With consideration to the villages, many people live daily by doing manual labor. However, as time passes, things get out of hand and older people will find it extremely stressful and difficult to carry out these jobs. It usually goes on from one generation to the next but things can take a different turn when the younger people move out. A recent government survey shows that the amount of land sold to different businesses and is increasing year by year. Moving out from a village which has huge amounts of the workforce, will make it difficult for the villagers as well as for the development of the village. The above data clearly shows how the migration of future generations can lead to devastating effects. Another point to consider is the effect on education, and how people will gradually focus on getting their work done. In many rural areas, there is no longer a village school for local children to attend instead with the migration, all the children have been transferred to schools in towns and cities. Furthermore, not enough kids are living in the village for the schools to run, eventually causing the schools to shut down. A clear example refers to my own experience, where we had at least one school in each village making education a priority to everyone's life, however, things have changed and now if a survey is conducted, the numbers have decreased drastically. This eventually makes the towns and cities go out of population and more developed when compared to the villages which could be brought to the same stage as well. In conclusion, the significant rise in the numbers of an average age of old people living in rural areas has resulted in suitable people who are set to work harder in place of workforce and closure of the schools, causing major hardships for the development and handling of the villages. It is recommended, that the government takes procedures in introducing new programs of affordable accommodation with the installation of public transport.