Some think that having ambition is a good quality. Is it important to be ambitious? Is it a positive or negative characteristic?

In today’s era of cut-throat competition, being ambitious helps to grow professionally in life. A portion of individuals considers ambition as a necessary quality while others disagree with it / disapprove of it. This essay shall delve into both the sides of the argument; however, I personally feel it is a positive trait and I have a number of arguments to defend my view / opinion / argument. To begin with, ambition cultivates many life skills such as problem solving, decision making, leadership, independence and confidence in a person. To add on, ambitious persons tend to value their and others’ time and money. They have a very focused approach towards setting and meeting their objectives and they understand that nothing can be achieved overnight. Consequently / Hence, they are willing to work hard and dedicate themselves to their cause. Moreover, ambitions are changed and modified depending on the situation and accordingly they have to act instantly on such changes. These set of people become an open system and expand their horizon of thinking. To exemplify, a recent study demonstrated that 80% of the successful entrepreneurs had a mission, goal and vision in their early stages of life and they have acted accordingly to accomplish it. On the flip side, it can have a negative impact on individuals and on the society. It makes people not only competitive but also egoistic and aggressive. Ambition is good but being over ambitious is not. Furthermore, in case of failures they turn out to be a negative character and can harm themselves by going under depression or stress, leading to sleepless nights and sometimes even committing suicide. To recapitulate, ambition has its pros and cons but if managed properly¬ its advantages outweigh the disadvantage. Therefore, it can be a valuable tool for someone’s growth in their professional and personal life.