You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion. You should write at least 250 words.

Opinions about the way of being successful in sports are varied. Some people believe that physical strength is a relevant characteristic to achieve success. However, others consider mental strength to have a higher importance. In my opinion, both strengths are equally important and provide players with skills to succeed. On the one hand, physical strength is thought to be an important factor to be successful in sports. This belief can relate to the idea that athletes spend a lot of time working out at the gym, so their resistance is better. For instance, being a physically active person allows players to remain active during a football match. Therefore, they stay focused on the game, and not on feeling tired. On the other hand, mental strength is considered to be more relevant than physical strength. We may have heard the idea that the human mind is powerful, and in sports it plays a big role. This happens because being clever enough helps people to wisely predict their opponent’s movements. As a result, actions will be taken considering these predictions. If these ideas turn to be right, there will be a higher possibility to win. Regarding my point of view, it is essential to develop both strengths to have a better performance in a sport. In fact, characteristics like having a strong mind and a strong body complement each other. For example, when basketball players are smart, they will manage to understand the other team’s plans. Also, if they often work out at the gym, they will not get tired easily during the match. All in all, having a strong physic helps people to stay active in demanding sports such as football or basketball. In addition, having a strong mind makes players aware of their opponent’s ideas. When these strengths are combined, they create a successful atmosphere.