Some suggest that it is a good idea for children to grow up with at least a pet at home.

Having a pet at home is considered by many to be beneficial throughout children’s growth. Although I agree that pets help children to learn how to socialize and to be responsible, I think that preventive measures should be taken since children may contract mortal diseases. First and foremost, many studies have proven that the interaction of children with pets has promoted their social skills and a sense of responsibility. This comes from the fact that pets are a terrific icebreaker for children to strike up a conversation and help them create special relationships with other people, besides they get more confident and acquire a higher self-esteem. Additionally, pets require special care and attention, hence children have to provide them with food, water and keep them clean and neat, as well as they need to devote some time for playing and walking them around. These kinds of activities encourage children to be more responsible in their tasks. However, children may also be exposed to high-risk diseases that can be contracted from domestic animals if no appropriate supervision is given. It is important to note that animals without the recommended care and vaccines may develop viral diseases such as hydrophobia, which will eventually lead not only to the pet’s death, but also to the owner’s death. Therefore, it is important for parents to have them vaccinated and keep a periodic revision and control in the veterinary in order to diminish risks. In summary, The interaction between children and pets strengthens social skills and makes them more aware of obligations. Nevertheless, pets’ health should be always monitored.