ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF CONSUMERISM

Consumerism is an increasing consumption of goods that encourages individuals to consump or purchase products in greater and greater amounts. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this issue. On the one hand, it is true that consumerism offers plenty of undeniable upsides. The main advantage of consumerism is the improvement of living standards in our life. Because of selling products at low cost by many companies, that encourages consumers to act and purchase in order to increase the consumption of goods and services. As a result, people will be able to enhance in order to ensure a better life. One point in favor of consumerism is the stimulation of economic growth. When goods or services are demanded in a society, then businesses have to work harder to produce consumer goods in large quantities. Therefore, multinational companies manufacturing these goods are making huge profits, a share of which boosts the economic growth of the country. Another additional benefit of this problem is that it can provide a variety of employment opportunities for the people. For example, due to the increase of consuming or purchasing products, a variety of companies require natural resources to produce more items, improve the quality of goods in order to satisfy the needs and expectations of the consumers. On the other hand, however, consumerism is not completely beneficial, there are some negative aspects that should be taken into consideration. The first disadvantage of consumerism is natural resources can be overexploited. Due to the increasing consumption demand, many companies have to produce items in large quantities, therefore these companies will exploit all the natural resources to satisfy the human’s needs. As a result, the natural resources in the area come under pressure. Another negative aspect of this issue is discimination and crimes. For instance, nowadays a lot of consumer choice is created more and more, so the poor don’t have the money to pursue a choice, then they are left with no choice. This will lead to a negative stigma in consumerist societies. Furthermore, some people can not catch up with the choice so that is a reason why they take up criminal behavior to become wealthy in order to consump goods. In conclusion, consumerism could bring about certain positive effects, but its negative consequences should not be overlooked.