Some students choose to work or travel after leaving school and before going to university. Many people, however, say that working experience is more useful in adult life than travel.

It is believed among some students that taking a free year before university to travel is less beneficial than gaining working experience. From my perspective, establishing new connections and interacting with different cultures can be more valuable. The vast majority of teenagers and young adults live inside a small social dome with friends and family. However, success in life can be achieved only with the help of other people, especially in the era of globalisation. Visiting new countries can improve social networking skills and create new connections which can be an enormous advantage for a future career. The more people you know, the more assets for success you have. Every country in the world has its own culture. Each one of them can add additional perspective and ideas on how to handle career or what to do in the future. In addition to that you can observe people in different life conditions: poor or rich, healthy or ill, religious or atheistic. Without that knowledge it can be hard to choose a path in life. It can even change the decision of university or profession. Traveling around the world can be lifechanging and devoting a year to get this experience is beneficial and can create new opportunities for the future.