Some scientists are speculating about the possibilities of producing astronauts genetically bred to suit extra territorial exploration. What implications for good or evil do you see in such a suggestion? wwxe

That man can do many things imitating nature, or in some ways bettering nature is a feather in man's scientific knowledge. Thus many artificial things have been put in the market adding to the aesthetic taste and comfort of man. So we have terylene, plastics, many kinds of alloys and other things. Man is able to create hybrid varieties in plants and animals which can yield more and, at the same time, resist diseases. He can travel at supersonic speed. He can use specialized light rays like LASER for medical and industrial purposes. Many other instances can be quoted to show how far man has mastered over nature because of his scientific knowledge. But when man tries to imitate nature in creating new life or by tinkering with the life principles such that a tailored life can come out of the laboratories, it is going too far. In recent times the knowledge of genetics has developed very much and man is in a position to say what is taking place within the human cell, what is responsible for sexes, and what carries the characteristics of heredity. True he has the knowledge of DNA and RNA which are the brains behind the cell activities. He knows also about the genes and the chromosomes. By experimenting with these chromosomes 'mutations' can be brought about and new types of life may be created. In all this the chemist, the biologist and the medical men work in close cooperation and steadily and surely increase man's control over his own life. When man can order life, there are many dangers and questions involved. Apart from the question of morality, the foremost problem will be, when things go wrong 'Frankensteins' may roll out of laboratories. This possibility cannot be brushed aside. In science 2 x 2 is not always four. Where life is concerned, some unknown factor may work upsetting the whole calculation. For instance, small creatures develop a resistance against pesticides and so a new generation capable of resisting the pesticides comes up. So too when man begins to tinker with the genes such that he may create a superman or a dull one. This would tremendously upset the balance in life and usher in chaos. There is a balance in nature which, should not be upset. For example, man pumps out millions of barrels of oil from the bowels of the earth and burns them away with the result atmospheric oxygen is consumed at a rate that it cannot be replaced by green plants and pollution is ever on the increase. This only goes to show that man cannot control when he tinkers with nature which may bring a chain reaction leading to major tragedies. The scientist along with others, with his superior knowledge must defend eternal values and should not betray humanity and let it run after the golden calf of demagogy and materialism. Science can give a diagnosis of what kind of a universe we live in but it cannot provide the treatment.