Some Schools have restricted the use of mobile phones.

The use of mobile phones by students in schools has increased drastically in the past 10 years. While some herald this as technological advancement others complain about the negative effects of electronic devices. This essay will show that despite the restriction of mobile phones being a positive development many would no doubt protest such rules. Mobile phones have become an increasingly growing issue in schools, overall, pupils have more access to them now than ever before. Meanwhile teachers are struggling to retain order in the classroom and the attention of their students. Because of the increase in situations such as online bullying the use of mobile phones could be restricted, to cut down on this negative behaviour. Altogether reducing the amount of time students would have access to their mobile phones would be a good thing as it would increase their attentiveness and decrease the problems they can sometimes create. Although decreasing the number of times students have access to their phones could be an improvement, even if the school would have difficulty in implementing this policy. Both pupils and parents would see this as a impairment of their freedom, young children today are increasingly reliant on their phones for every aspect of their day, from being picked up from school to calling their parents in an emergency. Recently there was an article about a young girl whose phone was confiscated by the school administration, she then had to walk home as she did not have enough money for the bus and found it impossible to contact her parents without her phone. In conclusion decreasing the amount of phones used would be a good thing however it should be implemented carefully as to not cause more harm than good.