Some say that urban living has many benefits compared to rural living. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Nowadays, large cities are becoming more and more inhabited. People are increasingly choosing to live in urban areas because of some advantages it has compared with living in the countryside. However, despite its benefits, it has also drawbacks. In this essay, I shall discuss the pros and cons of living in a large city. To commence with, one of the benefits of city living is a higher job opportunity. Companies, government agencies and factories are mostly situated in the city, these establishments need employees in their operation, and it is often the case that they offer employment to people who are living nearby. For instance, in the City of Manila, 60 per cent of the total national jobs are offered within the city and practically most of the employees are city dwellers. Another benefit of city living is a better quality of education. Schools in the city have better education facilities such as the latest computers and better-trained teacher. They are also updated with the latest technology that promotes better learning such as complete laboratory equipment. In contrast, a lot of schools in outskirts are mostly using the traditional way of teaching, using a textbook and most of the time lacking educational equipment and practical training. Truly an outstanding education and better work prospect can make cities suitable to live in. On the other hand, air pollution is one of the major disadvantages of living in the city. The presence of cars and factories, that pollute the air by emitting carbon dioxide, sometimes make urban living uncomfortable. This could cause illnesses like cough and colds and other respiratory illness. Unlike in the countryside, the air quality is superb due to the absence of pollution and an abundance of trees, which is a vital source of oxygen. Another concern of city living is the high criminality rate. Robbery, theft and murder are commonly being committed because some individuals are economically challenged. In a recent survey conducted 65 per cent of the crimes in the Philippines happened in big cities. Battling pollution and avoiding being a victim of a villain is a challenge among metropolis dwellers. To conclude, although living in the city possess benefits such as job opportunity and better education, it has also its drawbacks like high crime rate and air pollution that is a health hazard. One should take a careful step and must consider these pros and cons before deciding whether to live in city or not.