With lifestyle diseases on the rise, fitness should be made an important part of the curriculum.

Physical fitness is just as important for children as learning the letters and numbers. This realisation is not of recent origin; most schools have a certain number of periods dedicated to physical activities. However, in the context of rising incidences of lifestyle-related diseases among children and adolescents, the question is, is this enough? Before the advent of televised distractions, children were often found outside the house playing in parks and even on the streets. But what really reduced playtime drastically was the arrival and rapid spread of the Internet. Online games and social networks have turned out to be an addiction that the new generations have fallen prey to. There are many things that schools can do to help students lead an active lifestyle. Encouraging students to participate in a variety of sports activities can help them identify a sport that is right for them and suits their interest and ability. They should be encouraged to try games like chess as well, which may be a better choice for some students. They will automatically develop the habit of physical exercise on realising that a fit body is required for a fit mind. In fact, physically active students are healthier and have been found to be better in academics as well. They do not get sick and do not miss school as often as those who are less physically active. The government, too, has a major role in promoting a culture of daily fitness. More time needs to be dedicated to physical activities, and advising schools to restructure the curriculum to accommodate this time must be prioritised. Schools should also be encouraged to have an indoor gym with basic equipment for gymnastics, badminton and other indoor sports. Schools can involve parents in their sports programmes. Parents may volunteer to coach the school junior teams for some sports. Involving parents will motivate the students to participate with greater enthusiasm.