There is an increasing trend of antisocial behavior by individuals and in most cases it is blamed on society. How can society be the blame? What needs to be done about these people?

The world is witnessing a spurt in criminal activities recently and it has led to heated debates on who is culpable for this. In most cases, it is their general upbringing and the social issues they face in the community that are to be blamed for this particular characteristic. To begin with, unemployment is one the surge in most countries around the world. As more and more graduates are being churned out of the universities, there is no proportional employment opportunities for them. As a result, they are subjected to frustration, stress and anxiety which in turn can make them resort to unlawful acts like theft and this disrupts the social harmony. Additionally, bad upbringing is another factor responsible for such behaviour when children do not get the necessary care and support from their families, or if they cannot afford to send them to schools, they can end up being vulnerable and unaware of the ramifications of such antisocial acts. Inorder to overcome this issue, there needs to be a conscious and proactive involvement of the government. Since education plays a very important role in moulding the character of an individual, it is the onus of the governing bodies to ensure that education is made a fundamental right and that every child gets the chance to go to school, especially those from the marginalised and unprivileged section. The correlation between education and felony is illustrated by the statistics developed by the World Child Protection Agency which reported that the crime rate is lowest in Sweden, the most literate country in the world. A steady job and income, besides the foundation of education, is another pivotal and indispensable part of a transgression free civilisation. In conclusion, while the social environment in which a person grows is wholly to be blamed for the bad character traits developed in them, the society itself, with the assistance and support of the government can make a lot of difference in an individual’s life.