Some say that it would be better if the majority of employees worked from home instead of travelling to a workplace every day. Do you think the advantages of working from home outweigh the disadvantages?

It is undoubtedly true that legions of workers and employees have been confined to homes during lockdown owing to pervading COVID-19. While working from home was postulated to be more availing for workers such as time management, this is more refuted by the detriments brought about such as incidents of distractions, lack of motivation, hardships. From my point of view, I vehemently believe that under no circumstances must working from home be preferred by the employers as the benefits spawned by this decision are offset by the obstacles. To begin with, people are more likely to face distractions at home that would hamper their motivation to work. To illustrate, there will be no supervisor breathing down your neck at home, which is often found convenient to get up later in the day, unemployed neighbours swinging by, or housework invading concentration on your work. Therefore, owing to all these incidents crippling your attention, you might culminate in making no laudable progress during the entire day. Moreover, given that there will be no trace of colleagues accompanying you, it is inevitable that you might end up feeling dispirited to continue your work home. Upon having got acclimatized to social vicinities at a natural workplace, a gigantic change in this might incapacitate your productivity. In contrast, working from home can indeed be of paramount importance as you are given the opportunity to be more reposed and feel comfortable during the day. Elaborately speaking, you can ascertain what time you should begin your work and what time you should call it a day, thereby giving you more control over your own work-life as well. This might also benefit you by offering more time to be devoted to doing the laundry or doing other laborious housework. Besides, since the rush hour traffic will be absent to disencumber you from arriving home no earlier than an hour due to surfeit of traffic, more work can be fulfilled in a shorter span of time allocated normally. All in all, although you can garner more time from working home to complete other equivalent or equally consequential duties like housework, it is imperative that employers take sources of distractions diverting attention as well as poor productivity resulting from this into consideration.