Modern communications mean that it’s no longer necessary to write letters.

It is argued that there is no need in sending any information through letters nowadays due to the advancement of technology. This essay completely disagrees with an argument that the technologies of the modern world have reached that degree of perfection, when any necessity in writing letters has disappeared. Firstly, this essay will discuss what is the role for engineering sciences in the transmission of letters now, and secondly, it will discuss advantages of written letters in current society. To begin with, the current means of communication, unlike traditional letters, really contribute to the development of rapid, direct contact between people from all corners of the globe. However, the speed and low cost of transmitting messages often changes and simplifies people's attitude to words and the meaning inherent in them. For example, when receiving information informally from various sources, reporters often face fraud, inconsistency of information with reality, which in the future may even lead to a lawsuit against the media that will publish the information. On the other hand, by sending out official letters and requests, the media seems to oblige them to give an official and reliable response. Finally, we must not forget about the valuable advantages of the current communication through letters. So, most people, when looking for a job, challenging any illegal actions or when interacting with officials, turn to such a useful communication tool as letters. For example, any complaint, claim, interaction between companies is based not so much on calls, messages and social networks, but on official letters, documents, whose form is often even fixed in laws or regulations. In conclusion, I completely disagree with the fact that technology has practically replaced such a method of information exchange as letters; this method still has obvious advantages in business, official interaction with government agencies.