It has been known the use of automobiles contributes to environmental harm; however, the number of car-making industries and the frequency of driving are still on the climb. What are the reasons and how to reverse this trend?

One of the most prevalent phenomena plaguing the entire societies is the ever-growing number of automobiles. Despite people have known that the use of vehicles can contribute to environmental harm, the number of frequent driving and car manufacturing is still on an upward trend. It is necessary to look at the inherent root then seek for the possible countermeasures. The issue of excessive use of cars could be accounted for a kaleidoscope of reasons. For one thing, with the state of the art technology and science, technical barriers are being removed, therefore triggering a wide range of industries to produce a myriad of automobiles so as to meet demands. Moreover, due to the surging of the public's wealth conditions, cars are now more affordable for people to purchase, thus, boosting the number of cars to a culmination. For another, scientists have unearthed different kinds of energy forms for people to choose from. For instance, shale oil, gas, or even ethanol. Throughout these multiplied forms of energy, the energy price has dropped dramatically. Hence, raising people's willingness to have personal vehicles, which can cause profound repercussions to the environment. On the other hand, there is a broad spectrum of strategies to address this kind of trend. For example, governments need to institute a complete urban design program. Well-designed urban planning can not only decrease the number of cars but also set up a good environment for citizens to live in, such as entrenching a good bike scheme may increase the public's willingness to ride bicycles, this practice does not only drop the rate of air pollution and also provides people opportunities to mitigate stress that they accumulated through their lifetime, which can cause a positive influence on people's mental conditions. In a nutshell, despite the problems of the excessive use of cars can lead to damages to the environment. Nonetheless, the causes must be located in the first place while effective solutions have to be designed to counter the problem. It is probably the most prudent way to address the issue related to the overuse of cars.