Some poeple think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

Numerous countries have tried to put up various innovative ideas in place to make best use of a person's prison time, whether prisoners should sit idol or do some community work is an on-going debate. I agree for certain crimes, prisoners should let do some community work under close watch. Firstly, prisoners would get the opportunity to spend time with community and get a chance to understand importance of it. Being a social animal, everybody needs a safe and civilized community around him, so a person should always try to strengthen the community rather than spoiling it. For instance, few are accused only for a month or two for some petty crime. In prison, they would get the company of dangerous criminals who would try to imbibe the characteristics of a criminal. So they should be kept outside and give a chance to understand society and do something for it. Secondly, There are a lot of projects which government starts for the welfare of society if prisoner contribute to these projects, they will feel connected and part of society. In a society of good, civilized people, prisoners would also learn a better way to live life and might not commit the crime again. For instance, Juvenile courts generally give verdict in terms of social service for a specified period only, which has given very positive results. To conclude, based on the intensity of crime, a criminal must be given a chance to start one's life again by doing community service, rather than directly putting up against seasoned criminals who will only lead to a bitter end.